Interview with author Roseanne Dowell

I decided it’s time to start blogging a little more regularly; and since my publisher,  MuseItUp Publishing , has such a wealth of talented authors I thought I’d start by interviewing one of them. Today I’m pleased to introduce Roseanne Dowell, author of Connection of the Minds.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?
First and foremost, I’m a wife, mother of six grown children and grandmother of fourteen, great grandmother of one. Obviously, I’m very family oriented. I’ve been writing ever since I can remember but only submitting since 2002. My first book, Satin Sheets was published in 2006. Since then I’ve had four eBooks published with MuseItUp Publishing. Another, Connection of the Minds, will be released Sept. 9th.

What is the title of your most recent novel, and can you tell us a little bit about it?
Connection of the Minds is paranormal/mystery/romance about a woman who is connected with someone’s mind. She feels his joy and his accomplishments. When her visions show danger and she begins to feel his pain, she’s bound and determined to find out who he is. Her search takes her to a small Victorian town filled with interesting people and her life is in danger.

Since my day job is in a library, and I’ve always been fascinated by the vast variety of fiction genres, I have to ask. How did you choose the genre you write in, or did it choose you?
I guess you can say it chose me. I always loved reading mysteries and romance, so it was only natural I should write it.

Where do you get your ideas?
Oh boy, that’s one of the questions I’m asked most often. Ideas are all around us. From a line in a grocery store, the mall, to the car next to you at a traffic light or in a traffic jam to an article in the newspaper to a simple picture in a magazine. Even the want ads give you ideas.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you while you were growing up?
Probably the Nancy Drew Mysteries and later I moved on to Victoria Holt, and Phyllis Whitney.

Have you ever experience writer’s block?
Actually, I’m experiencing it right now. I’ve been working on the same book for almost two years.

Two years? That’s not so bad. LOL. It took me 10-15 years to get Betrayal’s Price finished. (It was buried in my closet for 12 of those years.) Maybe the answer to the next question will help with the writer’s block since chocolate cures all. Light or dark chocolate?
Dark, but I’ll eat light. LOL

A girl after my own heart. Okay, I’ll be serious again. Do you work from an outline, or do the characters dictate the plot?
I’m a panster. I know the beginning and end, what happens in the middle is a much a surprise to me as it is for the reader.

Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?
Wow, that would be a process of submitting, rejections, rewriting, submitting, rejections, more rewriting and more submitting and rejections until I found someone who liked it.

That sounds strangely familiar. If you had to go back and do it all over, is there any aspect of your novel or getting it published that you would change?
Oh that’s a great question. The actual publishing of it was great as well as getting the advance. My book sold 35,000 copies and I never received a penny in royalties. Unfortunately, I’ll never see the money. Someone didn’t pay someone else and even though there’s a court judgment, the publisher won’t collect the money, therefore, I’ll never see a penny.

Ouch. That certainly highlights some of the pitfalls we authors must navigate. My heart goes out to you. While we’re talking about the road to writing success, do you have any tips for new authors marketing their first book?
Promote, promote, promote. Visit blogs, leave comments, guest blog, start a blog. Invite other authors to blog. Twitter, Facebook. Set up book signings, join readers groups.

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?
The small town is based on a small town we visited often when we went to a cabin.

Random Question #2: Tea or coffee?
Coffee.

How did you come up with the title?
Actually the title just came by itself. Sometimes I don’t come up with a title until the last line of my book.

Every author needs a little down time, what do you do when you are not writing?
I enjoy embroidery and quilting and especially combining the two.

Okay, last Random Question: Are you a dog person or a cat person? Or horse, bird or whatever else floats your boat.
LOL. Definitely a dog person. I own two – a bichon and a shorkie – part yorkie, part shih tzu.

If it was possible, would you ever want to meet your protagonist?
I never gave that a thought before. It might be fun, especially since I know them so well.

Okay, there’s time for a couple more fun questions. In regards to a new project, do your new characters speak to you, or do they shout?
Sometimes they shout, other times they talk quietly and lead me along.

Have you ever had a character derail your plot?
In my WIP, which is why I’m having writer’s block. I never plotted a book before. Like I said, I’m a panster, but at our local chapter of RWA, a speaker strongly suggested we try it. I did and I’ll never do it again.

Thank you for letting me interview you on my blog today. For more information on Roseanne and her books you can go to: www.roseannedowell.com or her blog at: http://roseannedowellauthor.blogspot.com

15 thoughts on “Interview with author Roseanne Dowell

  1. I always knew we were kindred spirits. “Ideas are all around us. From a line in a grocery store, the mall, to the car next to you at a traffic light or in a traffic jam to an article in the newspaper to a simple picture in a magazine. Even the want ads give you ideas.” I’m a panster. I know the beginning and end, what happens in the middle is a much a surprise to me as it is for the reader.” “Sometimes I don’t come up with a title until the last line of my book.” “Sometimes they shout, other times they talk quietly and lead me along.” Great interview, great post, girls.

  2. Wonderful interview! I also grew up on Nancy Drew and Victoria Holt. Menfreya in the Morning is still on my all-time favorite list. Hope the writers’ block eases up. Yikes. Best wishes.

  3. Awesome interview! I’m sorry your character’s trying to derail your story right now – grr. I hate when they do that.

    Adriana

Leave a Reply

