SELF PUBLISHING VS. SMALL E-PRESS: PART 2

A couple years ago, when I first started the
submission process, I never dreamed that one day I would consider self publishing one of my works. Yes, in the beginning, I looked down upon self-publishing. It wasn’t until late last year that I started to pay attention to Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing and realized self publishing didn’t necessarily mean ‘vanity press’.

Vanity presses publish books at the author’s expense. Whereas,
mainstream publishers, be they major companies or small presses, make profits from selling the author’s work, not charging the author for the ‘privilege’ of being published.

And Self-Publishing….it’s an entirely different beast. In theory, self publishing doesn’t have to cost an author anything. However, a good cover and professional editing are two things I STRONGLY recommend. Okay, maybe if you’re good with Photoshop, you could make your own cover. More power to you. But a professional editor will catch errors even the best beta reader will not see.

I didn’t see spending money on my writing as a bad thing—there are lots of other vices I could waste money on;
really, writing isn’t that bad of vice to have, honest.

Still, I debated for a long time before deciding to self pub Stone’s Kiss. The turning point was when I heard Lindsay Buroker a fellow OWW member (Online Workshop for Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror) had self published a couple of her works. I’d read some of her works while on the OWW and respected her talent. It was her helpful tips at EBook Endeavours which finally inspired me to brave self publishing. As the saying goes, YMMV. I just hope I get good mileage. LOL.

7 thoughts on “SELF PUBLISHING VS. SMALL E-PRESS: PART 2

  1. Self-publishing and editing is difficult because you really can’t thoroughly edit your own work no matter how proficient you might be. But $2K is outrageous. $2 per page (which means somewhere around $600-$800) is a bit more affordable, but you should find some grammar/spelling gurus as crit partners. Learn great ways to edit your own work. You can self-pub without spending any (or much) money at all.

    You won’t necessarily get good editing going with a small press either. I’ve had my own bad experience with that. I am now with an up-and-coming small publisher who’s doing everything right. The editing I’ve received from MuseItUp has been quite good.

    I feel fairly confident in my self-editing because I have 35 years experience as an editor of technical material. I also have found fabulous crit partners to take up the slack where I’m weak.

    My self-pubs cost is zero. My small publisher cost is zero. The difference I’ve found is a tight-knit community of fellow authors with my editor.

    There’s still the barrier of “self-pub sucks” to overcome, but you have to do that one reader at a time. Convince a few and get them to convince others (via reviews).

    One other thought: I know a couple of authors who self-publish who do not write or edit well. What they can do is market. They sell a ton of books because of that. So crap can be sold if you are an arrogant, pushy author unafraid to keep slamming out the publicity no matter how bad you are. That’s how some have sold a million self-pubbed books despite being a pitiful writer with no talent. Like P.T. Barnum said, you can sell crud if you’re an inventive marketer.

    I will not name the guilty.

  2. Marva’s correct. 2k is outrageous; I just didnt’ want to insult anyone. LOL.
    And if you’re good and have a really awesome group of editor-minded beta readers, you could get away without an editor, but not if you’re new. It’s too easy to put out a ‘bad product’ and I don’t want to do that to my readers. If you have a good handle on the craft of writing–go for it.

Leave a Reply

