Interview with Larion Wills

It’s  MuseItUp Publishing Monday again. Today’s guest is Larion Wills, and she’ll be talking about her book Chase.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Not much to tell. I’m just an average writer compulsive every day kind of person. Hubby and I live in the Arizona mountains with our two dogs. I go for groceries one a week if I can’t get out of it, do the laundry when I remember, have to be reminded to fix dinner, and sit with the laptop across my legs nearly all day. As a author, I’m a late bloomer. I didn’t start submitting and publishing until about six years ago. As a writer, I been putting the stories running around in my head down on paper all my adult life. When the time felt right, and my excuses were all gone, I started dragging them out of the closet, putting them in the computer. Not being able to prepare a presentable submit was one of my excuses. Word shot that one down.

What is the title of your most recent novel, and can you tell us a little bit about it?

Love to. Chase is a contemporary suspense romance released by MuseItUp Publishing. Or I could say a modern day mystery revolving around a love story. The book blurb and excerpt is the easiest way to give you a good idea of what it’s all about.

At eighteen, Chase was given a choice: keep his mouth shut about who gave him the beating or go to prison for rape.
Once learning there was one thing Tiffany hadn’t lied about, he returned to see his son.
Meaning only to watch from the distance, he received a startling invitation to stay—with disturbing results.
 Tiffany disappeared years before, both her parents were killed, all three incidences under suspicious circumstances. The lone family survivor, Tiffany’s younger sister, inherited the family fortune and his son. Grateful to Sydney for the care she has given Ryan, fascinated by her, he couldn’t help but sense something lurking, just beneath the surface.

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
I actually put my first ‘story’ down on paper at about 21. Perfectly awful. Every time I start feeling like I haven’t learned anything, I go back and read it, and believe me, I’m not just talking about my typing or the formatting.

 

Do you have a day job/family/children, and how do you balance everything?

Kids are grown and out on their own, husband is mega tolerant of ‘writer’s obsession’ and no day job. The kids and job were two more excuses shot down, but I have to tell you, I work more now than I ever worked outside the home.

 

How did you choose the genre you write in, or did it choose you?
The genres chose me. I write in several in all different time periods.

 

Random Question: Light or dark chocolate? Light, milk chocolate every time. Oh, wait, are ding dongs milk or dark?

Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?
My biggest challenge was getting over my own hang ups, all those excuses I talked about earlier. My biggest problem was I didn’t want to face all those rejection letters I’d heard about and just knew I was going to get. Obviously, I got over that.

 

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?
 I’d have to say imagination with touches of real life for realism. In Chase it takes place in an area I used to live in and there were many times I sat through youth football games with two sons and two grandson who loved to play. In White Savage, released before Chase, the story takes place in the area I live in now. It’s so much easier to descript what you’ve seen, and in the case of White Savage, work in history I’ve been around for years. As one of those who find history fascinating, I’ve visited a lot of the historical sights and gotten a ‘feel’ of the times.

 

Do you have any favourite characters?
My favorites seem to be the ones I’m working with at the moment. I really like nearly all of them.

Random Question: Tea or coffee?
Neither. I’m strictly a soda pop fan for my caffeine kicks.

How did you come up with the title?
 Some title just pop up at me. Others I agonize over. Talk about a mini blurb. How can you relate the essence of the story in just a couple of words? White Savage was an easy. Chase perplexed me until I gave up and settled on the main characters name. Taken either as the name or a description it fits. There is a Chase scene in it.
 

What do you do when you are not writing?
Catch up on all the things I’ve let go, like laundry and cleaning. If I really catch a break I dig into the books I’ve got stacked around and read someone else’s love affair with words.
 

Last Random Question: Are you a dog person or a cat person? Or horse, bird or whatever else floats your boat. LOL.
 I love cats, but I only have two dogs, little dogs. We live in a rural area thick with coyotes. Small animals at always at a risk, but the dogs are easy to keep inside and never go out without one of us with them. Lately a new threat has been added. Our garden has drawn in javalina. Now I have to look out the window to be sure they aren’t out there eating my foods of labor before I open the door to let the dogs out. They’re little, but they can kill a dog in minutes with their tusks.

 

If it was possible, would you ever want to meet your protagonist?
Out of all of my ladies, I think meeting Sara Beth from It’s Still Tomorrow. She’s a witch and I had more fun writing her.
 

In regards to a new project, do your new characters speak to you, or do they shout?
 They nag, nag, nag and won’t shut up until I get them on paper. I write the first draft out in old fashioned ink. Did I mention I’m a lousy typist. I get so distracted seeing a mistake and going back to change it I disrupt my train of thought. Doesn’t happen with pen and ink. Must be something about the left/right side of the brain.
 

Do you have a new book coming out soon? Can you tell us a little bit about it?
 The next to be released, in Nov, is another in my western collection. Or is it Traps, another contemporary. No, I think it’s Tarbet, the western. I try to alternate a contemporary with a western. Then there’s the science fiction ones coming. Oh, my, I need to get a calendar. If it wasn’t for the editing staff at MuseItUp, I’ll really have a hard time keeping them straight. Please don’t tell me to get organized. I try and try and then something happens to disrupt my train of thought. Notes don’t help much either. I forget to look at them the same way I forget to look at the calendar I jokingly said I didn’t have. I do have an organized website. You can see the coming soon, new release, and back lists there. Lisa is adding my links, buy and sites. Come visit me.

Excerpt:

“If you knew her better, you wouldn’t think it’s so farfetched. She gets an idea in her head, and she never lets it go. As long as she stays on her meds and doesn’t feel threatened, she seems to be okay.” He hesitated, took a breath, and spoke with determination. “I could never prove a thing, but my advice to you is do not do anything to set her off and get out of here before she decides either you’re a threat to her in some way, or she isn’t going to get what she wants out of you.”

 “What are you talking about?”

“I don’t want any more unexplained disappearances or deaths. I can’t prove she had anything to do with Tiffany’s disappearance or her parents’ accident, but my gut tells me she did.”

“Tiffany called the other night.”

Billmore scoffed. “Right. I played that game with her for awhile. Wasn’t anyone on the other end, right? Ask her sometime to show you how the phone program on her computer works and can be set to dial a number any time.”

He gave a good spit. “Nearest we could figure was she and Tiffany got into it over the baby. Sydney wanted it, and Tiffany wouldn’t let her have it. They were screaming bloody murder over it one night, and the next Tiffany disappeared.”

“You’re crazy.”

“No, but Sydney is: crazy, smart, and tricky. Her father kicked her out because he was afraid to have her in his house anymore. She had the kid so things went along pretty good until she went back, demanding money from him when she’d tapped out the trust fund from her grandmother. Cain was strapped and couldn’t come up with what she wanted. He called me after she left, scared out of his skull. She threatened to kill both of them, and guess what, two days later they were both dead. Tiffany disappeared years before, presumed dead by everyone around here, both parents end up dead, the order of their deaths a little too convenient, and who’s left to inherit it all?”

“What’s the order of dying got to do with anything?”

“He disinherited Sydney, Tiffany, and that kid of yours. With him dead first, his wife inherited, even if it was only for a few minutes, a tricky little fact Sydney was well aware of. The old lady had a will, just a formality to accommodate the terms of her trust fund. See, Sydney’s grandmother hated the old man and had a soft spot for Sydney . She set up the trust so that when she died the money went to Mrs. Gibson with the condition that if she died before it was all gone what remained went to Sydney. Mrs. Gibson wrote that in her will, but didn’t bother specifying that it only pertained to the trust. Complicated, I know, but since the old man died first, it all went to his wife, and with some legal maneuvering, Sydney ended up with everything.”

Storing all information away for a later analysis, Chase told him, “I heard her raze Reed over for not investigating the accident that killed her parents.”

He gave a snort. “Smoke screen for your sake. I investigated that accident, inside out. Someone ran them off the road is the only explanation. There wasn’t any ice on a straight stretch of good road. The old man didn’t have a heart attack or stroke either. I made sure there was an autopsy. With all of them gone, there was no one left to oppose her with a couple of nice insurance policies thrown in.”

He scoffed and spit again. “Within days of their deaths, she started liquidating everything her father spent his whole life to build, even before the funeral she didn’t go to. God knows where she’s squirreling the money away. How did she get you to go to bed with her the first time? Knowing her, it was devious as hell. Or does she tease you and make you hopeful the way she has that poor sap Reed?”

Chase’s feature set, but he couldn’t help thinking of how that cat had been tied up in the middle of the night and how revealing her pajamas had been.

Billmore chuckled. “Don’t feel bad. You aren’t the first she’s suckered in with her vulnerable innocence look. She uses it on every man she meets. It makes them want to protect her. If you want my advice, you’ll run while you’ve got the chance. Put enough distance between you to be safe. If you want that kid, go after him through the courts.”

“What kind of evidence do you have?”

“Not enough to arrest her. The only thing I can prove is motive. I told you, she’s clever as hell.”

“All you’ve got is gossip?”

“I’ve got a damned sight more than gossip,” he growled as he shoved up straight. “I warned you. That’s all I can do.”

www.larriane.com

www.LarionMusing.blogspot.com

Larriane Wills on facebook

One thought on “Interview with Larion Wills

  1. Wonderful interview. The book sounds deliciously mysterious. Nice job.
    You must live in a rather remote spot if you only get out to get groceries once a week. But I’m like you, sometimes if I’m in the middle of things, I need to be reminded to make dinner. 😉

    C.K. Volnek

Leave a Reply

