Interview With Margay Leah Justice.

Today my guest author for  MuseItUp Monday is Margay Leah Justice and she’ll be talking a bit about her new book, Sloane Wolf.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?
Sure, I am a mother, writer, prolific blogger. I was born and raised in central Massachusetts, which lends itself well to writing about all things supernatural! I have been writing since I could hold a pen and have already had one book published, entitled Nora’s Soul.

 What is the title of your most recent novel, and can you tell us a little bit about it?
 It’s called Sloane Wolf and it’s about an empath named Shiloh Beck whose life takes an unexpected turn when she meets a family of shapeshifters led by Micah Sloane. On the other hand, Micah’s life is turned upside down when Shiloh walks into his life as she brings with her secrets and intrigue and sinister figures that want to bring her back to the mysterious Institute.

 When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
I started writing when I first learned how to hold a pen – or perhaps it was a crayon! I don’t remember the exact time. All I know is I’ve always written. As for when I finished my first book, that was probably in my teens, though that is not necessarily the book I published!

How did you choose the genre you write in, or did it choose you?
 I don’t choose the genres I write in, they choose me! I just write whatever story my muse dictates to me, whether it’s historical, contemporary, paranormal. I don’t define myself by genre, meaning I don’t consider myself a paranormal writer because I wrote a story about shapeshifters and psychics, nor would I consider myself an historical writer because I’ve written a story set in the Regency or Victorian times. I am simply, a writer.

Where do you get your ideas?
That is the ultimate question, isn’t it? Ideas come from everywhere for me. Many times, it’s a turn of phrase that makes me think “That would make a good title for a book.” So I make note of the title and then I set about creating a story to fit it. Other times, it could be a current event that sparks an idea. My first published book is based on two dreams I had one night that were connected. I get many ideas from my dreams!

Have you ever experience writer’s block?
I think it’s more like creative block for me. Sometimes, I am so over-loaded with good ideas, I don’t know where to begin or with which one!

Random Question #1: Light or dark chocolate?
Light chocolate, though I’m developing a taste for the dark, too.

Do you work from an outline, or do the characters dictate the plot (I’m a mix of both)?
Sometimes, I work from an outline – usually when it’s a very intricate plot. But other times, I just fly by the seat of my pants!

If you had to go back and do it all over, is there any aspect of your novel or getting it published that you would change?
For the second one, no. I think the way it played out is perfect the way it is.

Random Question #2: Favourite colour?
Red – absolutely love it!

Random Question #3: Tea or coffee?
Both! But coffee more so than tea.

What do you do when you are not writing?
I am a fanatic about knitting, I do a lot of reading, and I love TV!

Last Random Question: Are you a dog person or a cat person? Or horse, bird or whatever else floats your boat. LOL.

I am absolutely a cat person, but I do love dogs and
horses – always wanted a horse!

Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published?
Oh, yes – but I haven’t given up hope on it yet!

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?
Never give up, always have faith in yourself. That faith is what will see you published one day. Also, keep honing your craft; never stop learning, it keeps you fresh. Follow the blogs of other writers, agents and industry insiders – that’s where you’ll learn the best bits about everything from writing itself to getting published to marketing once you are published.

If it was possible, would you ever want to meet your protagonist?
Oh, yes!

In regards to a new project, do your new characters speak to you, or do they shout?

Some speak softly, but persistent. Others scream down the house!
Have you ever had a character derail your plot?
Not derail it, just take it down a path I hadn’t envisioned before, but it enhanced the plot, so I wasn’t too upset.

Do you have a new book coming out soon? Can you tell us a little bit about it?
 I am working on a follow up for Sloane Wolf, but it’s still top secret! Ask me again in a few months!

 

If you’re looking for Margay, readers can find her at:

 

http://margayleahjustice.blogspot.com

http://twitter.com/Margay/

http://www.facebook.com/MargayLeahJustice/

18 thoughts on “Interview With Margay Leah Justice.

  1. Love your site, Lisa! Margay, it is clear you are a true writer. Congratulations on your book. Loved reading about you and your writing. By the way, go for that dark chocolate; lots of yummy antioxidants. Good for you and good to chew, I say. LOL
    Cheers,
    Pat Dale

  2. Great responses from everyone. I can’t wait to read this one. Sorry I haven’t been active this week, I’m hip deep in edits–must get it done by Monday. Bye for now, and back to editing.

    Lisa Blackwood

    1. That is an excellent question! Probably one of the best I’ve been asked! Well, I definitely wouldn’t ask Shiloh what it’s like to be empathic because I have some experience in that area myself (not to the extent she does, though). I think I’d ask Micah about the legends of his people, in his own words. I’d also like to ask them if there’s more of their story to tell! Did I get it right, or do I need to keep digging into it? There’s so much I’d want to know!

Leave a Reply

