Self Publishing vs Small E-Press Part 1

As I mentioned a few days ago, I decided to start blogging about my experiences with self publishing vs. small e-press. Stone’s Kiss is my self-pub and Betrayal’s Price is with MuseItUp Publishing. First off, I didn’t self publish because Muse is unsatisfactory, (they’re lovely to work with) instead I did this as a way to start building a fan base.

With self publishing, an author has a lot more freedom when it comes to choosing a selling price, selecting cover art, picking a publication date and so on. The ability to manipulate the cover price was perhaps one of the most influential factors in my decision to self publish Stone’s Kiss. I was able to experiment with different prices to see what sells best. And since this is book one in a series, I wasn’t so much interested in making money as selling a great number of copies. In other words, I want to get my ebooks into as many different hands (devices) as I can. I’ve found FREE is a great way to do that. I’ll talk more about the happy accident of Amazon Price Matching and KDP Select (Kindle Direct Publishing Select) in my next post.

For now, back to pricing.

Yes, some will argue that promotion is the key to selling, and it is. But as a reader, if I’m trying a new author for the first time, I’m a lot more likely to give them a go if their book is in the 2.99 range vs. upwards of $10. If I can buy an ebook for what I would normally pay for a paperback—I ain’t buying. Unless, I know the author and really, really, really love their work. (Okay. There are maybe a few authors I would pay that much for, but I already know and trust them.)

Another plus for self publishing is if your title is actually selling, you get a larger percent of the royalties than you would with a publisher. Yep, I know—good luck with that. LOL.

There’s a down side. Isn’t there always?
You have to do everything yourself. And, oh boy, is there ever a lot of stuff to do. I’ll talk more about that it upcoming posts. One thing I learned was to appreciate how much work publishers actually do. Wow. They earn their money.

And another major element not to be overlooked in self publishing is getting a good editor. I fell down on this. While I did hire an editor, I should have done more research, but I was new and more focused on learning how to create and format ebooks than going over the manuscript for a final polish. (Bad. Bad. Very Bad.) In fact, for the next one I plan to have both a content and line editor. And they will only see it after I have edited it to within a inch of its life. My MuseItUp Publishing editors taught me a few things about editing. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

At the moment, I’m giving Stone’s Kiss another proofread to catch all the stupid mistakes I missed the first time. And, yes, it lots of work reformatting the files, but it’s my own dang fault for not doing it properly in the first place. I owe that much to my reads.

So if you’re a new author, thinking of self publishing, don’t do what I did. Don’t be in a hurry.  Do yourself a favor and make absolutely sure you have a good product.

One thought on “Self Publishing vs Small E-Press Part 1

  1. Can’t wait to read your next posts on the subject. On a side note, I’m one of the people who downloaded Stone’s Kiss from Amazon, and I’m looking forward to reading it! It sounded very interesting!

Leave a Reply

