Interview with Meradeth Houston

 Today I’m interviewing Meradeth Houston, author of Colors Like Memories, a young adult paranormal.

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

I get asked this all the time, especially by my family. I think they are paranoid I’m going to include something about them in my books! Actually, it is very, very rare that I ever include anything about a person I know well. Occasionally, people I know in passing do make it into my books, or at least some of their more interesting quirks. Other than that, I do pull from places I’ve been when I write, using settings I’m familiar with, or enjoy visiting!

Do you have any favorite characters?

Yes, but he’s only mentioned in passing in Colors Like Memories. Much more of him to come in later books (how is that for specific? :).

How did you come up with the title?

The title for Colors Like Memories is actually from an essay by Jorge Luis Borges, titled “A History of Angels.” There’s a wonderful line at the end that includes the phrase, and I loved it so much I used it in my title. I wanted to include the quote at the start of my book, but it was insanely expensive to get the copyright agreement, so that obviously didn’t happen…bummer, really.

What do you do when you are not writing?

Usually, reading. And working in the lab. Or teaching at the university. I’m a molecular anthropologists, which usually keeps me pretty busy. But, I’m one of those people who actually likes being busy (something about being addicted to stress? Haha!) so I thrive on having things to do always.

Totally random, why the heck not question—> Do you have an Evil Pet Overlord?

I do have a pet overlord, though he’s pretty sweet, actually! His name is Niels Bohr, and he’s a goat. Hubby got him for me for an anniversary gift a while ago (does that say something about our marriage?). I don’t have any pictures, unfortunately, but he’s quite cute in a goat-ish way!

A bit about the Colors Like Memories:

Julia has a secret: she killed the guy she loved. It was an accident—sort of.

Julia is a Sary, the soul of a child who died before taking her first breath. Without this ‘breath of life’ she and others like her must help those on the verge of suicide. It’s a job Julia used to enjoy, until the accident that claimed her boyfriend’s life—an accident she knows was her fault. If living with the guilt weren’t enough, she’s now assigned to help a girl dealing with the loss of her mother, something Julia’s not exactly the best role model for. If she can’t figure out a way to help her, Julia’s going to lose her position in the Sary, something she swore to her boyfriend would never happen.

Release date: May 11th 2012 from MuseItUp Publishing.

A bit about Meradeth Houston:
Meradeth’s never been a big fan of talking about herself, but if you really want to know, here are some random tidbits about her:

She’s a Northern California girl. This generally means she talks too fast and use “like” a lot.
When she’s not writing, she’s sequencing dead people’s DNA. For fun!
She’s been writing since she was 11 years old. It’s her hobby, her passion, and she’s so happy to get to share her work!
If she could have a super-power, it would totally be flying. Which is a little strange, because she’s terrified of heights.

www.MeradethHouston.com
meradethhouston.blogspot.com
https://twitter.com/#!/MeradethHouston
www.goodreads.com/book/show/13030422-colors-like-memories
http://www.facebook.com/ColorsLikeMemories
http://pinterest.com/merbear95695/
http://youtu.be/HFRNJ-Yn7So  (teaser trailer)

http://youtu.be/7lUpK68bYFI  (book trailer)

One thought on “Interview with Meradeth Houston

  1. Thanks so much for hosting me! Sorry I haven’t gotten my links posted earlier (I’m at a family reunion and haven’t been able to get a second away at the computer until right now!). I really appreciate you hosting me!!

Leave a Reply

