A book for Earth Day.

Surreal tree in a calm lake during sunset.
April 22nd Happy Earth Day!

I’m an introvert environmentalist. (Not one of those big brave, put my life on the line types—Although, I highly respect people that are willing to put their lives on the line for our species’ and the planet’s future.)

Instead, I try to consider the earth in my day to day lifestyle. I have a car, but I live close enough to walk to work, so I walk. I plant trees and garden to provide food and habitat for animals. I try to be energy efficient as much as I’m able.

Sometimes my environmental mindset works its way into my writing. I try not to club my readers over the head with it.

However, I just watched the documentary Racing Extinction.

Maybe I need to work environmental issues into my writing more often. The human race needs to get its collective head out of its collective _____ (fill in the blank) if we want a planet for our grandchildren to inherit.

Stone’s Song, book 2 of my Avatars series, has the most blatant environmental theme. In it, an ancient siren awakens to find the ocean realm slowly dying because of what humans have been doing to it for the last hundred years. She sets out to destroy the human race to save everything else. (So, yeah, villain. But she’s the one villain I’ve always felt bad about killing off in the end. Although I gave her a hero’s death in the end.)

Wish I had thought about this sooner. I would have done some kind of promo/fundraiser for a charity.

So in lieu of that, I’m going to try my hand at fundraising for an environmental charity.  I’ll give all proceeds from Stone’s Song to a charity. I’ll give myself a year (Earth Day 2017) to see how much I can make. I’ll post updates throughout the year. I just came up with this in the last hour, so yeah, not really well thought out yet…..

I’ll call this a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

